Humans are morally superior to God

God encourages:

Slavery, genocide. raping woman, stoning woman, stoning of people who work on the Sabbath, child abuse, killing gays, killing adulterers. killing farmers with failed crops (I feel like i’m slightly cheating with all these killing ones, since murder is generally just outlawed. Go Humanity!)

Humans have outlawed: 

Slavery, genocide. raping woman, stoning woman, stoning of people who work on the Sabbath, child abuse, killing gays, killing adulterers, killing farmers with failed crops.

That’s only a small sample out of the bible. I completely encourage you to go to Skeptics Annotated Bible website to view a complete list of old and new testaments and the Koran.

2 comments so far

  1. Sabio on

    Very Nice Post !
    You know, I was looking into Koran translations recently. I think the Koran translation at the Skeptic Annotated Bible is actually a paraphrase of Pickthall’s translation and a very biased one at that. I don’t know how to find out, but my post linked above gives better translations, I think. When we evaluate Islam (or any faith) we want to have the most accurate understanding of the passage we can get. We don’t want to be accused of Straw Man arguments using poor, biased translations. But I am not sure what translation is the best.
    Any ideas?

    • Irish Atheist on

      Totally agree that having the best translation does add to the argument. But my knowledge of the Koren as a text is very limited. What I do know is that translating the Koran is very hard.
      The reason is that arabic writings wasn’t standardised till after the Koran was written. So you have multiple versions of the Koran each one could be argued as the correct version. So you have multiple sects within Islam.
      The best thing to do would is to double check one translation with another. I think there’s enough crap in the Koran that even if someone comes along and say that you have the wrong translation, you can go “well what about this part”.

      Hope this helps.


Leave a comment