Re: Why are you an Atheist?

This is a post in response to this comment.

Interesting question, and one, surprising, I haven’t thought about too much.

There was two things I was interested in when I was young: history, and religion.

Included in religion is ancient myths (Greek, Norse, Egyptian, Aztec, etc.)

Since I live in Ireland, and in a more rural part of Ireland, primary school (elementary school) consisted of: English, Irish, Maths, and Religion… for the 8 years (usually start school at age 5 and leave at age 12). Most National Schools are owned by the Catholic Church, needless to say religious instruction was very important. We were taught how to pray; how to say the rosary; first communion; first conformation.

On a side note, I was sick for both my communion and conformation. I think that may have altered my thinking on the events… oh and before I forget, no I wasn’t abused. Thankfully my generation was one of those where abuse by clergy wasn’t widespread.

Anyway, back story complete.

At age 10, 11 roughly, my memory isn’t full proof. But I went through this obsessive religious phase. I prayed regularly, wondered about god, and generally thought he was judging everyone… and somewhere along the line I said “nah, this can’t be right.” 

My love of history comes from a deeper love of knowledge. By age 13 I had a rounded image of history and religion. This was when I became an agnostic. I said, “Sure, why can’t there be a higher being in charge of everything?”

Then in came the information.

I started coming across all the contradictions in the bible. I got into Islam, and then all the racism and hatred put me off. But even then Islam still has glaring holes in the scripture.

Then the science and the anti-theist information came in.

This was where my love of knowledge played a part. I devour information, and there is plenty of it on how religion and religious scripture does not hold up to science or even history.

Over my teenage years I simple acquired more and more information, and noted the  contradictions whenever I was made go to mass. It was these contradictions that wrapped it up for me that the bible was inaccurate or false. If you take the view that god revealed the bible to man, contradictions have two explanations: god isn’t as smart as everyone says; or the bible is a very human creation.

By late teens, I had become completely Atheist, and now border on the line of anti-theist (surprisingly they are two different things). But that’s pretty much it: grow up religious; found out more information that wasn’t too compatible with religion; and now have giving up completely on the faintest hope of believing in a higher being.

Comments, as always welcomed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

